Pot of Gold at the end of a Rainbow

The Rainbow Six Siege closed Alpha rolled out this week and wraps up on Monday. While players are still jumping online and taking down other players in this small snippet of whats to come, the internet is lighting up with opinions and verdicts about Rainbow Six Siege.

Lets get this out of the way up front; Its an ALPHA .

Alpha- The alpha phase of the release life cycle is the first phase to begin software testing.Alpha software can be unstable and could cause crashes or data loss.

A game’s Alpha build usually complies with the following points:

  • The game is playable from start to finish.

  • All the game’s features are implemented to at least first pass quality.

  • Some art may still be place holder.

  • Crashing bugs may be present.

That said there is usually a difference of definition between developers as to what an ALPHA actually looks and plays like but its safe to say that the game will never be fully indicative of the final product that players will be playing on launch day.

I’m of two minds when it comes to Alpha’s ( or even Beta access at that point). One part of the gamer in me wants to get my hands on any form of the game prior to its release whether to evaluate its progress or simply just to get some hands on with it before anyone else on my friends list. I have participated in many Beta sessions over the years and most of them where enjoyable and made me feel special ( That is just the kid in me wanting to brag to friends).

The other side of me is the one that shows extreme amount of self restraint and wants to experience the game in all of its FINISHED glory along with everyone else on launch day. The one that wants to see the game through the eyes of a ” Non Jaded” gamer who hasn’t seen the flaws and ugliness of an unfinished product. That the side of me that is going to be playing Rainbow Six Siege when it launches later this year.

They have announced that the game will be getting an XBOX One Beta at some point and when this happens I will be using every inch of my self control to avoid jumping in with my friends.

The last time Team Rainbow was on a console was back in 2007!

Rainbow Six is a beloved franchise and it has literally been lying dormant for almost a decade.That in itself deserves Ubi Soft an insane amount of respect. Imagine the key developers involved with the Resurrection of Rainbow watching year after year of Annual Call of Duty and Battlefield clones dominate the FPS market with an entire generation of gamer’s not even having experienced the thrill of Rainbows Six”;s unique tactical game-play.

That’s why it pains me to hear some of the comments floating around the internet this week on these so called Alpa Testers tearing Siege apart over things like graphics and lack of game-play options. I’m pretty sure that over 50% of these gamer’s think they are playing a DEMO of the full game and are weighing their pre-order options on the state of the game as it is now.

There are some concerns that I have myself and most stem from the fact that we have been shown very little of the game and pretty much have to rely on a couple levels of the multi-player suite and some vague comments from the Developers on what else to expect. The XBOX One/PS4 Era of gaming has been plagued with smoke and mirror shows by many developers so far that most of us are cautious when we see new titles boasting what appears to be on the surface amazing visuals and game play. You can look toward UbiSoft in fact as a prime candidate being that Watchdogs was this generations biggest controversy and  their other releases , The Crew and Assassins Creed Unity where also plagued with marketing slight of hand tricks.

Ahhh Watchdogs…how could we forget you my friend?

Regardless, I am willing  to extend some faith in the developers of Siege and in return show them respect by not jumping on the ” Internet Hate Wagon” like so many others have done this week.Its a prize I have been waiting for since 2007 and I don’t want to spoil it. I hope that our readers do the same but I wont hold it against you if I see you on my friends list playing the BETA while I am waiting for my pot of gold at the end of the Rainbow.

Make no mistake. Rainbow Six Siege will be a worthy addition to the franchise but I’m not sure that it will be the game that will appease a present day generation of gamer’s that have become accustomed to the current state of First Person Shooters.

Dwayne “EVO Knight” Morash

2 thoughts on “Pot of Gold at the end of a Rainbow

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

